Wayna – Higher Ground

The 2nd LP from perhaps one of the most sweetest, cherubic voices on the Washington DC soul scene. Watch Wayna’s dulcet tones synthesize blissfully with fellow funk martian Muhsinah’s earthy vocals on the mind-bending soultronica backdrop of ‘Billy Club’… this particular track 3 successively came on as I was examining the album with my iPod on in bed the other night and I started wiggin’ out under the covers. Shit is far out.


01 Moonlight Rendezvous
02 A New Scenery
03 Billy Club ft. Muhsinah
04 Loving You (Music) ft. Kokayi
05 Close to You featuring Kenn Starr
06 Daydream
07 Mr. Duracell <<<<<<< An ode to her vibrator. Heads up ladies.
08 Interlude
09 Office Politics
10 My Love
11 Not Gonna Go
12 Home
13 Stalking Horse (the Cuba joint)

My stand-out tracks highlighted in Bold Red above.

Fantasticunt album rating:

7.5 mums out of 10

Click to bump: Billy Club feat. Muhsinah

[If this artist/group deserves your money, click this to buy CD or check iTunes]



2 Responses to “Wayna – Higher Ground”

  1. Roberta 'BEE' Flat Says:

    I LOVE this album

  2. A to the L Says:

    Wow… she looks like Alicia Keys.

    Anyway – props on the site – I stumbled across it on a google search, and am glad I did… I’ll stick you on my blogroll this weekend…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: