Archive for the ‘Daru’ Category

Jay Scarlett – Future Sounds For My Classic Generation

September 24, 2008

Whispered to a couple o’ my close heads yesterday that I was intending to unveil a midweek world exclusive today.

I kid not.

This is a fresh-off-the-stove melting pot (not single-track, individual mp3s) masterminded by tastemaker Jay Scarlett of the internationally renowned Beat Dimensions movement: champions of the bold, brazen, progressive and fearless future of music.

Those of you who copped Jay and Cinnaman’s Beat Dimensions Vol. 1 courtesy of us will know what to anticipate: a seamless selection of spacey, bugged out, glitched-up, forehead-knockin’, ultramodern Soul, Hip-Hop, Dubstep, Grime and other Electronic hybrids alongside classic, organic vibes. This man has his fingers on the pulse of these evolving genres (if one can even box them like that which I doubt). You may want to listen in, in dread of being left behind…

This compilation was recently completed in private conjunction with Reebok (and otherwise may not have seen the light of day) though I’m notified it’s getting pushed for a wider drop later this month. Disc jockeys, promoters, bloggites, audiophiles, forum dwellers, honour Your Mum: get this out there as far as possible, make the world pay attention to that next generation.

Props going out to my source for the fantastic voyage.

Megaupload Download Link


1. Sa-Ra Creative Partners – Intro (A Few Words By Sa- Ra Creative Partners)
2. Daru & Reggie B – Gone Away
3. Funkenteller feat. The Deepspace 69 – Emulator
4. Gecko Turner – Monosabio Blues (Phillips Owusu Remix)
5. 8thW1 – A Fools Lullaby (Could It Be)
6. Dem Suite – The Worst Way  (Spinnerty Remix)
7. Nicolay & Kay – The Light
9. Omm’as Keith –  Bassa Sex Plex
10. Chacho Brodas – Soul Brodas
11. Dabrye feat. A.G. – Get Dirty
12. Erika Rose – Fairytales
13. The Reflektor – Verdadero
14. Mono/Poly – The George Edit
15. Jahcoozi – Getyoshitout
16. Altered Vibes – Holy Ghost
17. J Todd feat. MC 2020 – 1-2-3
18. Quiroga – No More
19. Dephjoe – Hey Playa
20. Tai, Joaquin & Vicelounge –  Never Fall Away
21. Iman Williams & AB – Soulmate
Hidden Track: Jay Scarlett feat. Reggie B & Distantstarr
My favourite tracks highlighted in Bold Red above.

Video: Dabrye feat. A.G. – Get Dirty

“Rolling two Ls like Cool J did it…”

Daru & Reggie B – Future Music

September 11, 2008

I’m suddenly a tad addicted to this LP; three mornings I’ve lay in bed and let it run dawn through daylight.

You may remember my palpable championing of Detroit beat-buster Daru (former drummer for Slum Village and Dwele tours; now a pad-pounding production powerhouse drawn into his element) right here. Now he’s combined Caltroit forces with rising Cali singer/songwriter Reggie B (quite the Purple disciple with that recurrent lusty rasp creeping in every so often) to run the train on your cotton-wool arse.

This be that full-bodied, nod factor, basement bounce, Hip-Hop Soul music with oscillating two-bar breaks, sparse loops that verge on thunderous, and a pinch of groove throbbing electrolysis to marry to that which is readily raw.

Daru is dangerous.

Photobucket Image Hosting

01. It’s Not A Game
02. Future Music
03. I Was Wrong
04. Play House
05. Stay Free
06. Anywhere You Go
07. A Ways To Go
08. Juni’s Revenge
09. Cry No More
10. Good Love
11. Juni’s Revenge (Part 2)
12. Future Music (Gerd Edit) (Bonus Track)

My stand-out tracks highlighted in Bold Red above.

Video: Good Love

Fantasticunt LP rating:

8.5 mums out of 10

[If this artist/group deserves your money, click this to buy CD]

Daru & Rena – Feel The Love

August 27, 2008

I inadvertently found this whilst looking for something completely different altogether (I think it was a song by Bjork so I’m not sure how the hell the two correlate). To my bonny suprise, it contained a number I’d be searching months for and knew not the name of (now revealed to be ‘Lonely Nights’). Actually wait, no, it’s ‘The Roots Dilla Spirit Mix’ of that particular joint on their MySpace that I desperately need, but I’ll still claim fancy fuckin’ luck to gratify myself.

This is Detroit produer Daru’s recent collaboration project with singer/songwriter and sibling Rena, and quite the sturdy, stereo-stompers they are. In fact, I didn’t even know cats/kittens were still making Soul as rugged and gravel-textured as this anymore. The backbeats sound as if they were fashioned around the fiercer time period of mid 90s Eastcoast Hip-Hop: pounding boom-bap drum loops and some tremendous break chopping (all delightfully Primo-esque) as Rena’s airy vox glides and glitches along the contour of kicks and snares. You could easily be mistaken into thinking this was recorded in ’96.

If you were ever a fan of Groove Theory, or you just like your beats hard like 2 day old shit- you’ll be particularly jubilant.

Exceedingly bangin’. Only a total pussy would sleep on this.

Mediafire Download Link


1. All Alone
2. Turn It On
3. Your There Part 1
4. Happy
5. Take Your Hand
6. Sometime
7. Feel The Love
8. When You’re There
9. Lonely Nights
10. Things You Do
11. Spirit Part 2

My stand-out tracks highlighted in Bold Red above.

Click to bump track 9 here: Lonley Nights

Fantasticunt mixtape rating:

7.5 mums out of 10

[This is a free promotional release- appreciate free shit.]