Archive for the ‘Pop’ Category

Lykke Li – Youth Novels

September 8, 2008

With such au courant trailblazers as Kissey Asplund, Little Dragon and Koop amongst dozens others, it’s evident the Swedes have the “Progressive Urban” sector on smash. Regardless, I’ll still approach Swedish Pop with a hint of precaution.

Right, iron those American Apparel gladrags, you have my blessing for this one.

One love going out to Abba, Ace of Base & Eagle Eye Cherry- but not the A*Teens.

[Download Link Deleted By Request from Copyright Holder]


1. Melodies & Desires
2. Dance, Dance, Dance
3. I’m Good, I’m Gone
4. Let It Fall
5. My Love
6. Little Bit
7. Hanging High
8. This Trumpet In My Head
9. Complaint Department
10. Breaking It Up
11. Time Flies
12. Window Blues

My stand-out tracks highlighted in Bold Red above.

Video: Dance Dance Dance

Fantasticunt LP rating:

7 mums out of 10

[If this artist/group deserves your money, click this to buy CD]

Solange Knowles – Sol-Angel & The Hadley St. Dreams

August 27, 2008

This LP is the closest I get to feeling like a total girl (no homo).

I’d been harboring a secret affection for her Neptunes laced lead single ‘I Decided’ for the last 4 months, yet it was approximately 14 seconds into the soulfully cosmic first track that I squinted and thought, “oh shit, she’s actually onto sumthin’ here”.

Then a strange evening it was when I realised Beyonce’s picknie sister had made one of the most accomplished Pop(?) albums I’d heard in a long time. Despite common criticisms of Sol’s non-powerhouse pipe prowess, musically she renders her elder slightly insipid with this statement of stubborn personal growth and deviation from the wishy-washy, spineless contemporary Rn’B genre. Time to abandon unjust comparisons.

And suddenly in front of you all, I’m incapable of denying it even if I come off like a big bitches’s blouse: soaring production value (I’ve been telling people to watch out for producer Jack Splash from Plantlife a while now), sonic fluidity, loveable, catchy, harmonies, diverse pop songwriting and above all else satisfying tunes perfectly crafted for radios and rides through the Riviera- all prominent here when other commercial Black artists severely fail with their hollow sets and Heinz Baked Bean tin sounds. (Don’t worry, we all know the majors are fascists responsible for excessive cloning.)

Sol’s greatest strengths lies in the dispensing with current cliché and her adopting retro aesthetic, romping around the merriest of Motown, the energy of 70s disco, some genuine funk-soul percussion, and even extending all of that to be pacified with cutely cut down-tempo electronica (‘Cosmic Journey’ and ‘The Bird’ are quite extraordinary and on par with many of the Soultronica acts I’ve championed in the past, though minus of course the disturbingly camp trance-techno breakdown that Bilal should never have agreed to be a part of- you’ll understand what I mean when you hear it). Also, ‘Champangechroniknight-Cap’ arguably sounds as if it’s the best song her older sibling never did at the height of Bey’s solo powers during the otherwise solid ‘03 ‘Dangerously In Love’ period; a gentle dig at the label and public expectation maybe.

I may be a murky little man sometimes, but yo son, the sun shining off this disc is irresistible. All I need right now is ribbons. Lots of ribbons. And a health spa visit. And low-calorie fudge.

[Download Link Deleted By Request from Copyright Holder]


1. God Given Name
2. T.ON.Y.
3. Dancing In The Dark
4. Would’ve Been The One
5. Sandcastle Disco
6. I Decided (Part I)
7. Valentines Day
8. 6 O’Clock Blues
9. Ode To Marvin
10. I Told You So
11. Cosmic Journey feat. Bilal
12. The Bird

13. I Decided (Part II)
14. Champagnechroniknight-Cap

My stand-out tracks highlighted in Bold Red above.

Video: God Given Name

Fantasticunt LP rating:

8.5 mums out of 10

[If this artist/group deserves your money, click this to buy CD]

Garbege Presents… Vietnam Vol. 2 (Mixtape)

August 5, 2008

Masturbate your inner-hipster.

This was released rather unexpectedly with one of my choice cuts of the year ‘She Loves Everybody’ from forthcoming Star Trak signed, prep-school, Harvard white boys Chester French… on some late-60s-chamber-pop-Walker-Brothers-overdosing-on-early-80’s-new-wave-shit, which doesn’t seem to be available elsewhere. Worth downloading for the one joint alone; the rest of the mixtape despite some very capable newbies, is sadly unremarkable.

Sharebee Various Download Links


1. Mickey Factz- War (Prod By Precize)
2. Mickey Factz- Mick Joy (Prod By N*E*R*D)
3. Theophilus London – Sand Castles feat. Salonge (Prod By Machine Drum)
4. Mickeylude
5. Kid Cudi- Embrace The Martian (Prod By Crookers)
6. Fresh Daily- Jump f. Jesse Boykins III (prod The Milkman)
7. Chester French- She Loves Everybody (Prod By Chester French)
8. Curtis Santiago- TKO
9. Mickeylude II
10. Mickey Factz- Rockin N Rollin Remix feat. The Cool Kids (ILLFONICS REMIX)
11. Mickeylude III
12. The Cool Kids- Oscar The Grouch (Prod By Chuck Inglish)
13. FKi- Clap Ya Hands (Prod By FKi)
14. Nakim- I Get It In (Prod By The Runners)
15. Smoke Dza- Go Getter feat. Nipsey Hustle
16. Mickey Factz- Salute feat. Jesse Boykins III & Mz.Mimz (Prod By Chase N. Cashe)
17. Melo X- XXX
18. Jesse Boykins III- Sobriety (Prod By Jesse Boykins III)
19. Jade- So Fresh
20. Mickey Factz- Peace (Prod By Precize)

My stand-out tracks highlighted in Bold Red above.

Video: Chester French – She Loves Everbody

Fantasticunt mixtape rating:

5 mums out of 10

[This is a free promotional release- appreciate free shit.]

Little Jackie – The Stoop

July 15, 2008

New collaboration LP combining the anti-conventional gusto of Brooklyn punkstress Imani Coppola and the candy-coated programming of (some guy I’ve never heard of before who looks like an Estonian charlie dealer) Adam Pallin.

I find the album relies too comfortably on the current Mark Ronson motivated vintage-pop trend till it rides the bandwagon wheels off it. The sound is too polished at times even if Little Jackie are attempting to nurture a retro Hip-Pop amalgam that capture the joviality of Motown’s 60’s chart nuanced R&B, and post-modernist sampling techniques; a feeling sparsely replenished only by the thrusting horn sections on ‘28 Butts’ and ‘Cryin’ For The Queen’ that mingle the right level of catchy bounce, swing and a grit to equal what is usually expected of Coppola’s spunky songwriting of solo material past. Perhaps the duo should obey the declaration of track 11’s title and either ‘Go Hard or Go Home’.


01. The Stoop
02. The World Should Revolve Around Me
03. 28 Butts
04. Guys Like When Girls Kiss
05. Liked You Better Before
06. LOL
07. Cryin’ For The Queen
08. Black Barbie
09. One Love
10. The Kitchen
11. Go Hard Or Go Home

My stand-out tracks highlighted in Bold Red above.

Fantasticunt album rating:

5.5 mums out of 10

Video: Black Barbie

[If this artist/group deserves your money, click this to buy CD]