Archive for the ‘Slipknot’ Category

Slipknot – All Hope Is Gone

August 28, 2008

Theoretically, Hip-Hop could learn from Slipknot’s steez. No soft filler shit, keep it coming unstoppably harder and harder.

Tough to appreciate for some, personally it wasn’t until I surrendered to repeat listenings of ‘Wait & Bleed’ and ‘Spit It Out’ at the age of 15 that I was left so flabbergasted by the cacophony of noise and yet awestruck at the sheer dynamic of their duel custom percussion (that’s two drummers with two extensively-modified kits simultaneously manifesting the most suffocating, time-signature devastating thwacking you’ll hear in your life). It’s the equivalent of Rodney King receiving a battering by Pontius Pilate’s centurions; the affect of which I’ll say is undeniably brilliant.

On ‘All Hope Is Gone’, they experiment even further with their own aggression and the principle elements of the group’s alpha and omega by incorporating the rawest, darkest, most feral aspects of their self-titled debut, the follow-up ‘Iowa’ and their last ‘Vol. 3: Subliminal Verses’ to conjure up one of the most brutal albums I’ve heard. Keepin’ it real son! Misanthropy, Nihilism, rage, alienation, and psychopathy as standard. Additionally, the sheer, unscaled level of thrash here is enough to make people forget they’re waiting on a new Metallica set.

Relating back to my original point now, it’s as faithful to their own genre as it is loyal to their core fanbase and ultimately undaunted. Slipknot keep it realer than most, and as a music lover/obsessive who’s constantly let down by many fickle, self-contradictory, inconsistent Hip-Hop fall-offs, from a subjective point of view I can appreciate their artistic integrity.

Hol’ tight fellow maggots and misfits. I need to cop one of those new edition masks and terrorise the fuck outta my gran with it.

[Download Link Deleted By Request from Copyright Holder]


01. .execute.
02. Gematria (The Killing Name)
03. Sulfur
04. Psychosocial
05. Dead Memories
06. Vendetta
07. Butcher’s Hook
08. Gehenna
09. This Cold Black
10. Wherein Lies Continue
11. Snuff
12. All Hope Is Gone
13. Child of Burning Time (Bonus Track)
14. Vermilion Pt. 2 (Bloodstone Mix) (Bonus Track)
15. Til We Die (Bonus Track)

My stand-out tracks highlighted in Bold Red above.

Video: Psychosocial

Fantasticunt LP rating:

8 mums out of 10

[If this artist/group deserves your money, click this to buy CD]

Richard Cheese – Sunny Side Of The Moon: The Best of Richard Cheese

August 18, 2008

“Here’s one for the ladies…”- Richard Cheese – Rape Me

I can’t quite explain this entry.

Imagine Kurt Cobain, Snoop Doggy Dogg, Thom Yorke & Trent Reznor were… furry leopard-print tuxedo sporting Las Vegas lounge singers.

You need this in your life if you don’t have a great deal to live for.

RE-UP, No Password Required:  Rapidshare Download Link



1. Rape Me (Nirvana cover)
2. People = S**t (Slipknot cover)
3. Baby Got Back (Sir Mix-A-Lot cover)
4. Girls, Girls, Girls (Motley Crue cover)
5. Closer (Nine Inch Nails cover)
6. Bust A Move (Young MC cover)
7. Down With The Sickness (Disturbed cover)

8. Sunday Bloody Sunday (U2 cover)
9. Freak On A Leash (Korn cover)
10. Nookie  (Limp Bizkit cover)
11. Another Brick In The Wall (Pink Floyd cover)
12. Rock The Casbah (The Clash cover)
13. Fight For Your Right (Beastie Boys cover)
14. Hot For Teacher (Van Halen cover)
15. Gin & Juice (Snoop Doggy Dogg cover)
16. Come Out & Play (The Offspring cover)
17. Badd (Ying Yang Twins cover)
18. Creep (Radiohead cover)

My stand-out tracks highlighted in Bold Red above.

Video: Gin & Juice (Snoop Doggy Dogg cover)

Fantasticunt LP rating:

8.5 mums out of 10 (for inventiveness)

[If this artist/group deserves your money, click this to buy CD]