Archive for the ‘Tiggalo’ Category

Zo! & Tiggalo – Love The 80s EP

July 18, 2008

Despite the current rampant fixation with this peculiar decade, after two full listens I’m not quite sure what the point of this uneven record is/was…

I’ve always found Phonte (Little Brother and Foreign Exchange, if you’re a bit slow) an endearing emcee, and his Percy Miracles alter-ego a tolerable troubadour aswell. Here he presents himself under the camp retro guise of Tiggalo: appearance rather Rick James, but vocally Rick James’ backing singer at the most (unless we’re talking The Mary Jane Girls, then scratch that, but you understand me).

Metro Detroit’s Zo! (keyboardist/beatsmith) has produced some exquisite numbers, most recently coming to mind his gorgeous instrumentation for Median’s joint ‘Simile’ last year. Yet on this set you’ll find lackluster reinterpretations of the 80s most heinous pleasures; this is essentially no more than an unsatisfactory novelty work despite the following claim…

“We had fun recording the record, but its not a ‘joke’ album at all,” says Phonte. “We were very serious with everything, from the vocal side, to the production side, to the final mixing and mastering…it was a real painstaking process to recreate it all. [The album includes covers of ] ‘Take On Me’ by A-Ha, ‘Africa’ by Toto, and a new revamped version of ‘Steppin’ Out’ by Joe Jackson…and that’s all I’mma say…”

The Zo! and Tigallo Love the 80’s EP will be available in early July as a limited edition CD. Only 2,500 copies will be pressed, all individually numbered.

“No iTunes, Amazon, or other any digital spots will have it; once we sell out, its gone forever”

My opinion? Perhaps Phonte should stop pissing about and prolonging my 4 year wait for the second Foreign Exchange album ‘Leave It All Behind’ that is supposedly to fall from the skies finally in late Autumn huh maybe?


01. Africa 06:59
02. Take On Me 05:49
03. Steppin’ Out 2008 05:04
04. Something About You 05:22
05. I’m Only Human 06:24
06. Written All Over Your Face 05:51
07. Steppin’ Out 04:03 (Trackademicks Extra Wet Like Stoney Jackson’s Curl Remix)
08. Something About You 04:06 (Nicolay’s Nighty Night Quiet Storm Remix)

My stand-out tracks highlighted in Bold Red above.

Fantasticunt mixtape rating:

5 mums out of 10

Click to bump: Take On Me feat. Carlitta Durand

[If this artist/group deserves your money, click this to buy CD]