Archive for the ‘Underground’ Category

Blu & Mainframe – Johnson & Jonson

September 21, 2008

After rampant bootlegging earlier this year (which Your Mum was not really a part of) Blu & Mainframe’s overdue emcee/producer collabo project ‘Johnson & Jonson’ is set to drop September 23rd.

I’ve been saying it for over a year and a half- Blu is the truth: one of trailblazers of the new Westcoast renaissance.

Mediafire Download Link

The Only Way
Mediafire Download Link

Bout It, Bout It (feat. Raps by Mainframe at Jon Johnson)
Mediafire Download Link



01. Johnson & Jonson – J & J
02. Johnson & Jonson – Up All Night
03. Johnson & Jonson – Half A’ Knot
04. Johnson & Jonson – Mama Told Me
05. Johnson & Jonson – The Gusto Room (feat. Stand Up By Bobo Lamb as Jack Johnson)
06. Johnson & Jonson – Wow!
07. Johnson & Jonson – The Only Way
08. Johnson & Jonson – In The Building
(feat. Vocalist Miguel as Jontel Johnson)
09. Johnson & Jonson – Bout It, Bout It (feat. Raps By Mainframe As Jon Johnson)
10. Johnson & Jonson – Spell Check (feat. Gang Sign Language By Big D Menace)
11. Johnson & Jonson – Long Time Gone
12. Johnson & Jonson – Still Up All Night (feat. Co$$ as Troy Johnson)
13. Johnson & Jonson – A Perfect Picture
14. Johnson & Jonson – Anything Is Possible (feat. Raps By Randy & Jon Johnson)
15. Johnson & Jonson – The Oath
16. Johnson & Jonson – Hidden Bonus Track

My stand-out tracks highlighted in Bold Red above.

Video: Bout It, Bout It

Fantasticunt LP rating:

6.5 mums out of 10

[Artist’s Material Available To Buy Via This Link]

Pacewon & Mr. Green – The Only Color That Matters Is Green

September 8, 2008

Cease frontin’ on Pacewon: surely one of the most overlooked underground cats out the D for more than a decade.

Is it too early to say ‘Children Song’ is goin’ on a wee bit classic?

Hol’ tight all my Outsidaz worldwide.


1. Four Quarters
2. Children Sing

3. The Eye Of The Needle
4. I Need Money
5. Let a Shot Go
6. Who I Am
7. Hip Hop
8. Childhood (feat. Cymarshall Law / Mary Lou / Kosha Dillz)
9. So Straight
10. Won on Won
11. She Can Be So Cold
12. The Joker

My stand-out tracks highlighted in Bold Red above.

Video: Children Song

Fantasticunt LP rating:

7 mums out of 10

[If this artist/group deserves your money, click this to buy CD]

MF Doom & Trunks Present – Unicron

August 15, 2008

Who be this undergarment-inspired fella Trunks? I only know as much as you: a Canadian emcee featured on the King Gheedora LP. I wasn’t quite expecting any rap revelations this evening, yet Trunks happens to be just that dispensing a mettlesome underground EP that surely most heads will jump on for the special herbs alone.

Unicron dropped unexpectedly like some Chris Wallace bird-shit. Fresh beats specially weeded with Metal Fingers; initially I merely skimmed with fiendish fashion to find a Doom verse much to no avail, yet was countered with a tirade of surprisingly dope dork raps delivered with sharp claws: Stan Lee, Star Wars, Clive Barker, Thor, dragons, all inclusive. Trunks is a discovery, and I’m positively paying attention now.

Nonetheless, a proportion of this shine IS pilfered by the classic (Doom studio standard) drunkard drum taps and histrionic, Lo-Fi instrumentals with breaks unmistakably retrieved from the dead-skin-celled depths of MF’s VHS collection. For all my grubby ‘Operation: Doomsday’ and ‘Mm Food’ goons, these utterly sick sounds should just about keep us at bay until the next grand solo.

Having said that, my restlessness evolves into irritation. First Lib’s resplendently laced Madvillainy Remix piece and now this Doom assembly here- how many more befitting backdrops will drop unjustly untouched by Daniel Dumile?

Rapidshare Download Link



01. Monsters
02. Devastator
03. LockJaw
04. Last Laugh
05. The Story
06. Whos a Hero

My stand-out tracks highlighted in Bold Red above.

Video: Monsters

Fantasticunt EP rating:

8.5 mums out of 10

[No retail links or release dates for this CD found]

Damu The Fudgemunk – Overtime

August 8, 2008

Once in a cobalt moon, I hear something so skillfully archetypal that I’m reminded why I fell in love with classic Hip-Hop as it palpitated with the dust settled on its skin.

There’s two types of producers in the rap’s subterrestrial province: firstly those who pay homage to its glorious golden years yet fail to equalize the acoustic texture of those TIMELESS compositions (recognize that mixing/mastering and tools are different than they were 15 years ago and unless you calculate-to-emulate accurately with the recording techniques, you’re shit will just sound monotonous and Primos, Pete Rocks, Large Pros, RZAs, Prince Pauls, Easy Mo Bees, Buckwilds, Havocs, Diamond Ds, Q-Tips you will never be thus remaining relegated to backpacks and bootlegs amongst a sea of undistinguishable underground drones).

Then there are cats like Damu, who just quite simply from the crates to the breaks, the chops to the bass, the booms to the baps- forms a beautiful noise that feels mortal once again. Perhaps my only criticism is that I’m awaiting a inimitable, yardstick, signature sound like the greats before, yet for now this is genuine progress from the Washington DC beatsmith. The new instrumental mixtape thumps so lovely. My next request would be to have someone like CL Smooth or Brand Nubian or Lord Finesse or Poor Righteous Teachers or ED O.G. goin’ over these beats instead of the nonsense producers those stray cats be working with nowadays and the mediocre emcees (what good is dense lyricism without dynamism, personality, characteristic vocals?) present underground producers be hooking up with.

(Hol’ tight my Pinboard Blog viral thug ninja Speakz and pardon my pride when you forwarded this, I was in the know off last year’s Y Society LP; I get sensitive like a recently augmented nipple chafing against angora over my self-reliant, fanatical, musical subsistence sometimes. Allow me.)

Megaupload Download Link


01 Overtime
02 Puttin’ In Work
03 Pulse (Official Mix)
04 What’s Next (Early Mix)
05 Now Generation
06 Colorful Storms (Official Mix)
07 LB (Extended Mix)
08 Summer 2004
09 Paranoid Remix (Instrumental Version)
10 How Many Of Us (Extended Mix)
11 Soul Brother Number 3 (Damu’s 3 A.M. Freestyle)

My stand-out tracks highlighted in Bold Red above.

Video: Now Generation

Fantasticunt mixtape rating:

8 mums out of 10

[This is a free promotional release- appreciate free shit.]