Archive for the ‘Y Society’ Category

Damu The Fudgemunk – Overtime

August 8, 2008

Once in a cobalt moon, I hear something so skillfully archetypal that I’m reminded why I fell in love with classic Hip-Hop as it palpitated with the dust settled on its skin.

There’s two types of producers in the rap’s subterrestrial province: firstly those who pay homage to its glorious golden years yet fail to equalize the acoustic texture of those TIMELESS compositions (recognize that mixing/mastering and tools are different than they were 15 years ago and unless you calculate-to-emulate accurately with the recording techniques, you’re shit will just sound monotonous and Primos, Pete Rocks, Large Pros, RZAs, Prince Pauls, Easy Mo Bees, Buckwilds, Havocs, Diamond Ds, Q-Tips you will never be thus remaining relegated to backpacks and bootlegs amongst a sea of undistinguishable underground drones).

Then there are cats like Damu, who just quite simply from the crates to the breaks, the chops to the bass, the booms to the baps- forms a beautiful noise that feels mortal once again. Perhaps my only criticism is that I’m awaiting a inimitable, yardstick, signature sound like the greats before, yet for now this is genuine progress from the Washington DC beatsmith. The new instrumental mixtape thumps so lovely. My next request would be to have someone like CL Smooth or Brand Nubian or Lord Finesse or Poor Righteous Teachers or ED O.G. goin’ over these beats instead of the nonsense producers those stray cats be working with nowadays and the mediocre emcees (what good is dense lyricism without dynamism, personality, characteristic vocals?) present underground producers be hooking up with.

(Hol’ tight my Pinboard Blog viral thug ninja Speakz and pardon my pride when you forwarded this, I was in the know off last year’s Y Society LP; I get sensitive like a recently augmented nipple chafing against angora over my self-reliant, fanatical, musical subsistence sometimes. Allow me.)

Megaupload Download Link


01 Overtime
02 Puttin’ In Work
03 Pulse (Official Mix)
04 What’s Next (Early Mix)
05 Now Generation
06 Colorful Storms (Official Mix)
07 LB (Extended Mix)
08 Summer 2004
09 Paranoid Remix (Instrumental Version)
10 How Many Of Us (Extended Mix)
11 Soul Brother Number 3 (Damu’s 3 A.M. Freestyle)

My stand-out tracks highlighted in Bold Red above.

Video: Now Generation

Fantasticunt mixtape rating:

8 mums out of 10

[This is a free promotional release- appreciate free shit.]