Archive for the ‘California’ Category

Exile – DCAPATatE

September 23, 2008

And the night doesn’t stop as we descend further into madness.

Ill rarity just dropped on me: mind-blowing Exile instrumental only available on a 2007 compilation floating off the coast of Barcelona(?)

Hard hats on, the atmosphere on this could scrape your scalps off. The fact I’m high and listening to this simultaneously doesn’t help either. THIS is a lesson in beat-building.

Props to DeeJay (Low End Theory in LA).

Mediafire Download Link


Blu & Mainframe – Johnson & Jonson

September 21, 2008

After rampant bootlegging earlier this year (which Your Mum was not really a part of) Blu & Mainframe’s overdue emcee/producer collabo project ‘Johnson & Jonson’ is set to drop September 23rd.

I’ve been saying it for over a year and a half- Blu is the truth: one of trailblazers of the new Westcoast renaissance.

Mediafire Download Link

The Only Way
Mediafire Download Link

Bout It, Bout It (feat. Raps by Mainframe at Jon Johnson)
Mediafire Download Link



01. Johnson & Jonson – J & J
02. Johnson & Jonson – Up All Night
03. Johnson & Jonson – Half A’ Knot
04. Johnson & Jonson – Mama Told Me
05. Johnson & Jonson – The Gusto Room (feat. Stand Up By Bobo Lamb as Jack Johnson)
06. Johnson & Jonson – Wow!
07. Johnson & Jonson – The Only Way
08. Johnson & Jonson – In The Building
(feat. Vocalist Miguel as Jontel Johnson)
09. Johnson & Jonson – Bout It, Bout It (feat. Raps By Mainframe As Jon Johnson)
10. Johnson & Jonson – Spell Check (feat. Gang Sign Language By Big D Menace)
11. Johnson & Jonson – Long Time Gone
12. Johnson & Jonson – Still Up All Night (feat. Co$$ as Troy Johnson)
13. Johnson & Jonson – A Perfect Picture
14. Johnson & Jonson – Anything Is Possible (feat. Raps By Randy & Jon Johnson)
15. Johnson & Jonson – The Oath
16. Johnson & Jonson – Hidden Bonus Track

My stand-out tracks highlighted in Bold Red above.

Video: Bout It, Bout It

Fantasticunt LP rating:

6.5 mums out of 10

[Artist’s Material Available To Buy Via This Link]

Daru & Reggie B – Future Music

September 11, 2008

I’m suddenly a tad addicted to this LP; three mornings I’ve lay in bed and let it run dawn through daylight.

You may remember my palpable championing of Detroit beat-buster Daru (former drummer for Slum Village and Dwele tours; now a pad-pounding production powerhouse drawn into his element) right here. Now he’s combined Caltroit forces with rising Cali singer/songwriter Reggie B (quite the Purple disciple with that recurrent lusty rasp creeping in every so often) to run the train on your cotton-wool arse.

This be that full-bodied, nod factor, basement bounce, Hip-Hop Soul music with oscillating two-bar breaks, sparse loops that verge on thunderous, and a pinch of groove throbbing electrolysis to marry to that which is readily raw.

Daru is dangerous.

Photobucket Image Hosting

01. It’s Not A Game
02. Future Music
03. I Was Wrong
04. Play House
05. Stay Free
06. Anywhere You Go
07. A Ways To Go
08. Juni’s Revenge
09. Cry No More
10. Good Love
11. Juni’s Revenge (Part 2)
12. Future Music (Gerd Edit) (Bonus Track)

My stand-out tracks highlighted in Bold Red above.

Video: Good Love

Fantasticunt LP rating:

8.5 mums out of 10

[If this artist/group deserves your money, click this to buy CD]